Samuel Merritt University College of Podiatric Medicine 

Location: Oakland, CA

Samuel Merritt University College of Podiatric Medicine (SMU-CPM), formerly known as the California School of Podiatric Medicine (CSPM), was founded in 1914 as the California School of Chiropody. The name was later changed to the California College of Podiatric Medicine (CCPM). In July 2002 CCPM merged with Samuel Merritt University and the name was changed to CSPM.

SMU-CPM is known for its hands-on early approach to clinical education. Clinical rotations begin at the start of the second academic year in May. During the summer months, second year students begin to participate in clinical rotations, which cover mechanical orthopedics, radiology, general and primary podiatric medicine. The majority of the third year and the entire fourth year are devoted to clinical rotations at inpatient and outpatient facilities, community practice clerkships, and outside clerkships at affiliated Bay Area medical centers and throughout the United States.

The educational program leading to the Doctor of Podiatric Medicine degree consists of a comprehensive curriculum in the basic medical and clinical sciences. The didactic course work is completed during the first three years of the program. Demonstrating academic excellence in podiatric medical education for nearly a century, CSPM offers a number of advantages to students:

  • Hands-on, early clinical experience at the beginning of the second year
  • Small entering classes of approximately 48
  • Pioneering faculty in biomechanics and sports medicine

For more information, visit SMU-CPM.

SMU-CPM Delegation

Miko Fogarty
SMU-CPM Class of 2025

Nicolette Medrano
AAPPM Liaison
SMU-CPM Class of 2026


Harjit Badyal
Student Body President

SMU-CPM Class of 2026

Susanna Oppong
AACPM Liaison-Elect
SMU-CPM Class of 2027

Nicholas Vang
Alternate Delegate
APMA Legislative Committee Liaison
SMU-CPM Class of 2027

Savrinah Oliveros
Student Body President-Elect
SMU-CPM Class of 2027